homeaboutvarioustop destinationseventsdead or alive, famous norwegianstream, feed


mowi, marine harvestSalMarroyal salmonfriele coffe

 The Astrup Fearnley
 Museum of Modern Art

The Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art is a privately owned Contemporary Art gallery in Oslo. It was founded and opened to the public in 1993. The collection´s main focus is the American appropriation artists from the 1980s, but it is currently developing towards the international contemporary art scene. The museum gives 6-7 temporary exhibitions each year. Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art collaborates with international institutions, and produces exhibitions that travels worldwide.

The museum created a stir in the international art world in 2002 when it purchased the American artist Jeff Koons´s monumental sculpture in gilt porcelain of the pop star Michael Jackson with Bubbles, his favorite chimpanzee, for USD 5.1 mill.

The museum opened in 1993, and was funded by two philanthropic foundations established by descendants of the Fearnley shipping family, the Thomas Fearnley Foundation and the Heddy and Nils Astrup Foundation.

The two foundations merged in 1995 to become the Thomas Fearnley, Heddy and Nils Astrup Foundation. The Thomas Fearnley Foundation was established by shipping magnate Thomas Fearnley (1880–1961) in 1939; he was the son of shipping magnate Thomas Fearnley (1841–1927) and grandson of romantic painter Thomas Fearnley. The Heddy and Nils Astrup Foundation was named for Nils Ebbessøn Astrup, who was a maternal grandson of Thomas Fearnley (1841–1927).

Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art is designed by Renzo Pianoon at Tjuvholmen and will consist the museum´s permanent collection as well as temporary exhibitions. Altogether, Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art will have at its disposition about 4200 m². Tjuvholmen Bystrand Beach is located at tip of Tjuvholmen for young children and called Astrup Fearnely Museum guests to wade.

The collection includes works by artists such as; Janine Antoni, Francis Bacon (artist), Matthew Barney, Dado, Robert Gober, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Douglas Gordon, Cai Guo-Qiang, Damien Hirst, Anselm Kiefer, Jeff Koons, Louise Lawler, Sherrie Levine, Bjarne Melgaard, Bruce Nauman, Shirin Neshat, Sigmar Polke, Richard Prince, Charles Ray, Jason Rhoades, Gerhard Richter, Tom Sachs, Cindy Sherman, Rirkrit Tiravanija and Andy Warhol.

 more video Oslo Accommodation, Businesses and more pictures from Oslo  Oslo