Accommodation, Businesses and more pictures from Gran
Gran muncipality is situated on both sides of Randsfjorden and have approximately 13.500 inhabitants and covers a area of 758,2 km2. The nature is diverse, with a wide variety of flora, fauna and topography. Historical places is Granavollen with Sisterchurches, Steinhuset with old Tingelstad church close to the Hadeland Open Air museum, which includes the mound Halvdanshaugen, where legend har it that the heart of King Halvdan the Black is buried after going through the ice at Randsfjord.
Brandbu is a village located in the traditional district of Hadeland. It was earlier known as "Augedalsbro" (Bridge at Augedal). Locals still commonly refer to the village as "Brua" (the bridge). Brandbu is part of the urban area called Brandbu/Jaren. Nearby is the Old Molstad mill (Molstadkvern mølle) from 1915, today a part of Hadeland Folkemuseum. Augedalsbro, also called Åvedalsbro, is an ancient place for a bridge that crossed Augedalselva (Vigga River). Augedalsbro is also the motive for the painting Augedals bro by Gerhard Munthe (1897).
Hadeland is a traditional district in the south-eastern part of Norway. It is located around the southern part of lake Randsfjorden, and consists of the municipalities of Gran, Jevnaker and Lunner. Hadeland occupies the area north of the hills of Nordmarka close to the Norwegian capital Oslo. The soil around the Randsfjord is amongst the most fertile in Norway. Hadeland accounts for just 5 % of the country´s area, but it represents 13% of its agricultural land. Farmers harvest grains and potatoes. Pigs, dairy cattle and horses are also bred by farms here. The population is approximately 27.000. It is an exciting region with a rich cultural landscape and a welth off attractions and activities for visitors of all ages.
Hadeland Glassworks (Medieval Scandinavia) and the Viking Champ Raukr forms two extremes at either end of the region, spanning a whole spectre off sights and activities between them. There is Fjorda, a veritable eldorado for canoe enthusiasts, Granavollen with its famous "Sister Churches" and Stone House, and the unforgettable mine safari in the Nyseter mines in Grua, as well as a wide range of art galleries, museums, etc.
Why not visit a genuine farm and taste good traditional farm fare? There is so much to see and do in Hadeland, if you are willing to take the time to find out about and visit our unique attractions. Whether you are looking for a place to sleep, or want to go out for a first-class meal, we can help you find the perfect place.
MINES at GRUA
The iron mines in Grua date back to 1538, and later lead ore and Zinc were also extracted. The Nyseter mines are open to the public for guided "mine safaris". Hadeland Mine Museum has a collection of local crystals and minerals.
The Pilgrim’s Way between Oslo and Nidaros was completed in 1997. The Pilgrim’s Way runs through Hadeland, passing through Moe farm in Jevnaker, then onto Jevnaker Parish church, the Sister Churches in Granavollen, St Petri Church, through Brandbu, following Kjølvegen, befor finally crossing the municipal boundary near Høgkorsplassen. Lunner Church is not on the Pilgrim’s Way, but is well worth a visit. Built in the 12th century, there are still remnants of the original round tower.
Legend has it that Olav the Peaceful built the first church in Jevnaker on the site where the current church stands. The unique "Sister Churches" in Granavollen consist of Nikolai Church and the smaller Maria Church on one site. Nikolai Church has a pulpit from 1728 and an altarpiece dating back to 1625. The Pilgrim’s Loft on Tuv farm is an old renovated timber-log building from the 1800s.
Hadeland Folkemuseum is a regional museum for Hadeland (Gran, Lunner and Jevnaker). It was founded in 1913, and is located in Tingelstad in Gran. Hadeland Folkemuseum is located near Tingelstad old church also known as St. Petri Church. The Romanesque stone church was built around 1220 and known for its intact interior from the 16th and 17th century. The museum is situated along Kongevegen (The King's Road), the road from Oslo to Bergen which passes through Hadeland. Hadeland Folkemuseum is a subsidiary of Randsfjordmuseene, a regional institution which also manages Lands Museum and the Kittilbu Open-Air Museum in Gausdal.
Hadeland Open Air museum includes the mound Halvdanshaugen, where legend har it that the heart of King Halvdan the Black is buried. Høgkorsplassen is the highest point on Kjølvegen, the route along which King Sverre and his men hauled their Viking ships from Randsfjord to Lake Mjøsa on timber logs in the late 12th century. The Stone House is believed to date back to the end of the 13th century. The orginal purpose, of this building is a mystery to us today. Lunner Church still has remains of the original round church tower form the 1100s.
One of the first metals that was discovered was silver. It`s high reflection of light gives the silver an unique white white color and the silversmiths inspiration to creeatte the most beutiful things. With bacground in Norwegian silverart, Bjørn I. Hømann is today carrying on this tradition.
Gran Golfclub is a golf course with 9 holes and a variation of difficulties. The course lies at Nedre Hvattum Farm, approximately 2 km from Gran Center.
Hadeland Golfclub is under construction.